Ode to the European Goldfinch Bird

I WOULD LIKE TO REACH YOU.
I WOULD LIKE TO SIT NEXT TO YOU.
TO MAKE SURE YOU ARE LISTENING TO ME.
WHILE I AM TALKING TO YOU.

 

As I write these words, I look over at the naked tree opposite my bedroom window, three stories up. Clear as a shock, a single European goldfinch, singing its mating song, signing its name, across my heart. Have you ever seen one? Tiny, complete, thorough, an utterly remarkable creature. You have to utter it. Here is a picture I found of one on the internet. They are impossible to photograph.

Flying-European-Goldfinch

YOU MIGHT BE SO VIBRANTLY COLOURED.
YOU MIGHT BE A DREAM, COME TRUE.
YOU MIGHT BE A MIRACLE.
YOU MIGHT BE AN AFFIRMATION, PROOF.

Leave a Reply

