The Smiths / Oscar Wilde

“And heaven knows I’m miserable now.”

It is a timeless line because it can applied to yourself. eg I wanted to be a poet and I became a poet, I wanted to fall in love and so I fell in love, I wanted to write terrible love poems but feel in the time I was writing them that they were not disposable and then I wrote terrible upon terrible love poems but did nonetheless feel in the time I was writing them that they were not disposable,

and heaven knows I’m miserable now.”

What The Smiths distil efortlessly into a magnificent song is what Oscar Wilde embroidered our collective memories with almost a century before:

“There are only two tragedies in life: one is not getting what one wants, and the other is getting it.”

But it is more than just a wink on behalf of the Smiths to the literary master who rocked purple but never was his prose, it is expanding the territory of the nature of the spirit of Oscar Wilde applied on modern life in the 1980s and by extension the 2016 to reveal that what Wilde revealed was that he could cut right through the the to the truth hidden in the the.

Leave a Reply

