Dove

image

It is my mother’s birthday today. I always felt the Easter feel of April 15th really suited her, because heaven knows she is a saint. Like most artistic types I have had a relationship with my mother that has dominated my early life, my life now, my past and future lives, no matter how many lives I might have or had, my mother would dominate them all. And she seems like such a sweet, pretty, unassumimg woman, but behind her everyday duties and sighs is the heart and soul of an intelligence I am still grappling to understand. I miss her cooking.

Another common blessing when it is someone’s birthday is Na ta ekatostiseis which means I hope you live to one hundred years old. I hope we all do. Like those people in the old testament who lived to three hundred.

Xronia polla mama.

Leave a Reply

